See Jane become more visible

When I was a kid I watched a TV show called The Fall Guy. This was a classic 70’s tv show where the main character was a stunt man. the opening credits showed him doing all sorts of stunts and amazing things. This opening scene, and the parts of the show I paid attention to (I was 5 and 6 what do you want) shaped my future life for many years.

This show defined who I was and what I thought I could do. Suddenly, impossible was a word for others…because everything was possible. If a stuntman could jump off a 5 story building and walk away (even with a broken leg or so), i knew I could do it…because I SAW that i could do it.

also in the 70’s was a show called The Greatest American Hero where a normal person became a superhero. I read comics of superman and spider man…..all telling me I could be a superhero or anybody i want to.

I’ve instilled this idea into my daughters (both 11) and they have taken hold pretty well…but…yes but….there are odd ideas that have spread into their thinking. Suddenly, instead of telling them that they can do ANYTHING and that impossible is a cuss word in our house…I’ve watched two girls go from being anything they want to, to being a partner to something great!

WHAT!!???

So I sat them down and asked them where the World famous lead Dolphin Trainer and the Owner and operator of the Art and Design studio went.

They explained that they still wanted to do that, but they would need help from a…..wait for it……a partner who was a…..can you guess?  A man?   (I almost fell out of my chair. I never taught them they “needed” anyone. Especially a man. Now, don’t get me wrong I’m not an anti-male person for my daughters. I know very well that boyfriends and husbands and all of that stuff is coming and will be part of their life, but it does not need to define them and they definitely aren’t in “NEED” of a boy to achieve what they want.  Where did they get this idea?

The shows they watch. That’s why a new organization is trying to correct that.

See a person is who they see they can be.  Let me say that a different way: You know you can be something, if you see someone doing it…especially someone of your color or gender.

Seejane has decided to take this on and reinvent children media so that girls see that they can become women who are not accessories, but leaders!

This video explains this quite well:

So join Genna Davis and work towards seeing true gender equality in the media. Seeing that nothing was impossible when I was a kid, made me the person who I am today. We need to have women saying the same thing…and right now, they don’t have a lot of role models that fit that.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

