Wandering Star Art Gallery – All artisits welcome and wanted

Wandering Star Gallery – A home for artists of all kinds

I wandered down Westbay in Largo, fL the other day and passed a number of new and upcoming shops as well as some old favorites. It was an amazing to see the new vitality and exuberance that is in downtown Largo today. Downtown Largo is becoming what it use to be….the heart of the city.

As I was out walking and marveling a sign beckoned me..it simply said: Hello Sunshine!

What?! Did this store just say hello to me?  As I looked into the window I was greeted with an eclectic array of art and fun!

Fun?  Yes. When your eyes dance and bounce from piece to piece, and they open wider and wider with wonder and exuberance and enjoyment…suddenly you are having fun. The enjoyment of simply looking at the front display was more than I could take…so I walked in. But before I walked in I was greeted with a comment that made me stop, think, and smile.

The name of the store is called Wandering Star Gallery. Wandering star..huh?  Wow, aren’t we all a wondering star. A star lookign for a sky that is perfect for just us. A sky where people will see us exactly as we want to be seen? Then as we get older we find, we wander because that is what we do. We wander the world interacting, loving, and being a part of all the others of the world. That is why we wander. An old saying says, “Not all those who wander are lost.” And when I walked into the Wander Star Gallery..I was not lost, I was home.

Immediately there’s a red ottoman that greeted me at the door. An ottoman with the most subtle piece of foliage painted on the top. A little plant growing across the top, a black plant on a serene white back ground. I really wanted to pull up a chair and prop my feel up on it…then suddenly it occurred to me..I was looking at a car tire. Really?  Wow!!!  This was a re-purposed, upcycled, recycled car tire artistically turned into an awesome ottoman. Wow. If this is the front, what else could be in store for me?

Why art…art of all kinds. Photography, oils, paint, clothing, and even sculpture. But that’s not where it ends. The walls are covered with art, but not in a static “it’s been there for a while” type of art, a vibrant revolving art showcase.

As the owner and curator of Wandering Star Tanya Galloway explained, “You will see different art each time you come in. I’ve put out a call for artists, and these wall will be covered by different artists all the time. Even some that are just starting!”

Did you hear that…that was a call to artists. If you’re reading this Wandering art Gallery at 220 W Bay drive in Largo is calling for artists of all ages and all types to display and sell your art in their gallery.

As I wandered the gallery there is hand made jewelry that is simply amazing and just beckons you to try on, to wear, to sport with that new outfit you just got. Then you spin around and there’s some awesome hand made soap and a great hand made rocking chair that simply asks:please sit, please relax….and have some of this local coffee and tea.  Sit down and learn a talent that you didn’t know you had.

A talent…what?  That’s when you realize there are known artist painting all around you, but there’s something slightly different. When I asked about these little pieces of art…Tanya simply said,”Oh, those are paintings done in our “Paint Like the Masters class”.

I can take classes?  Better. You can take classes, you and your kids can take classes, and you can create masterpieces! Wandering Star Gallery has a Friday Kids Art night, a afternoon Mommy and me art, Daddy and me art, and even art for everyone…these are the masters events.

So I signed up for the Kids night…and wow!  We made owls. Owls!!! We made owls out of clay.  Me and my kids can now say we can sculpt an owl, and my niece (a collector of owls) is ecstatic about this. We cut out our hands and then we made the earth. Hands and earth…ok?  Then the magical owner and curator of Wandering Star Gallery instructed us to hang out hands on our earth and suddenly all of the kids there, 7 in total, were taught that they hold the earth in their hands, and the earth will only be what THEY want it to be. Suddenly, the kids were motivated to make the world a better place.

Wandering Star Gallery…a must see place no matter where you are living.

 

Chad Herman – Motivational Speaker

motivatingforpositivechange.com

Leave a Reply

