April 22, 2013 – Earthday thoughts and inspiration

Happy Earth Day!!!

In the last few days I have cleaned up the beach, cleaned up the road we adopted, increased recycling in my house by 1/2 (pretty good considering there are 3 kids two of which are pre-teens), and wrote a blog about the importance of thrift shops.

This is my tiny little way to contribute to Earth Day 2013…and then I try to speak up and speak out. After this post I plan to post and repost as many Earth Day things on every social network I can. The more we repost and get the idea out there, the more people will do!

Many believe as I do that Earth Day 2013 should be every day of 2013.  I mean it’s our home, it’s the place we live, it’s all we have to live on.

No Earth=No Humans=No US!!

I watch,read, write about, and repost e-mails from 350.org all the time. This is an organization that is doing something to change the current situation into an opportunity for us to regrow and help our earth. If we all stopped doing so many of the things we do on a daily basis, and then increased recycling and lessened carbon pollution..we could do amazing things.

I don’t do these things with 350.org because it’s a way to get my name out there, it’s something fun to do, or I’m bored….It’s because it’s the right thing to do and we all need to be stepping up to the plate and doing something about the state our earth is in.

This is not my planet…this is my kids and grandkids planet. I am just helping it out till they take it over, just like our parents helped it out till we took it over. The Earth is the greatest inheritance we can pass on or receive.

It truly all came to a very big realization why I need to do all of these things a few months ago when I was watching a well dressed gentleman talk about bringing democracy to his country. A documentery was made about him, but it also pointed out another problem he is having with his country. His country is disappearing at an alarming rate – 10/feet per year. If this happened to my state of Florida…the beach would be gone in 3 years, the gulf would take over the “beach front” hotels in 4, and when my daughters graduate in 6 years, the intercoastal and the gulf would almost be the same water.  This man is the president of The Maldives, and this is happening right now.  The current data is saying that this process is increasing, and he is looking for ways to save his people and their livelihood.

Wait…why aren’t we all doing this?  Because it’s not affecting us right now?

When i was a kid of about 5-7 years old, I wanted to live on a little speck of land at the bottom of the Bahama chain of islands. I had researched it, got books about it, drew myself there…it was “the plan”. Life happened and I grew up, but the little island was always a dream in the back of my head. About a year ago, I came across something I wrote about that little island…IT’S GONE!

Covered by the ocean!!!  Covered!

This is reality, and I know many people who are dealing with this right now!

Our planet is bombarded with so many pollutants and garbage so that humanity can gain another foothold into the race of existence and prosperity all under the guise of “success”. We have to re-evaluate!

More and more oil destroying land, ecosystems, animals , and irreversibly destroying the planet in numerous ways (50 oil spills in 30 days totaling 1 billion gallons of oil all over the world)   all to propel archaic gas powered vehicles and to make plastics that make our lives more lazy.

Sand…it makes glass. I don’t need my stuff in plastic, sand can be used and then I’ll wash the glass out. Imagine how much plastic is produced…and it’s all destroying our planet.

Think about this on today..Earth Day 2013…and do somethign to change these atrocities!

Remember – you don’t have to think about or do anything about climate change, but it IS happening and it IS affecting you.

http://motivatingforpositivechange.com

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

