A great motivational book list!

When I was a young kid of 10 an older man who owned a book store I bought comic books from asked me if I wanted to read a real book. I told him no and ran away. One month later, I walked back into the book store and a very pretty young lady was working there. I was so happy to talk to her, but she refused to talk to me. Suddenly, I realized this was a complete role reversal.  I asked her about the old man and she cried and cried. I walked over to the comic books and looked for the books I wanted and could afford as fast as I could. As I was spinning the display frantically trying to make my selections before she yelled at me, she walked up and stopped the display. She stared at me for what seemed like hours and then asked a simple question….”You’re the kid who comes in here every month looking for comics and talking to the old man…right?”  I nodded my head and she shoved a worn out book in my hand. She took the comics out of my hand, and yelled at me to get out of the store and read the book.

The book was The Great Gatsby

I sat under a tree and read it…the whole thing that day. I wanted to prove her wrong and be just as nasty to her.

I walked in the next day and threw the book on the counter.

She glanced up, “Did you read it?”

“Yeah”

“Good”

The conversation went like that for a few minutes till she explained that the old man was her dad. She was 21, he was 60. He had told her that there was a comic book kid that he felt had great potential. That was me. He had compiled a list of books for me to read. She gave me the list….it was one of the last things he wanted to do.  Why me?  I’m not sure and nor was his daughter. That list is the 1st books:

The Great Gatsby

LOVE by Leo Buscuglia. I wrote about this book previously.

Persoonhood…Also wrote about this book previously

Johnathan Livingston Seagull – A great book. Follow link

Illusuions – Follow the link

That was the list….and amazing list that is.

Book are amazing…they have the ability to change your thoughts, educate you, and of course change your world in amazign ways. Here’s a great book list of amazing books to help you on your path.  All of them will help you…all of them will inspire you…all of them will change the way you see the world.

now

The Power of Now by Eckhart Tolle

The primary principle in the book revolves around the concept of being fully present,  in other words, living in the NOW.

tip

The Tipping Point: How Little Things Can Make a Big Difference (ISBN 0-316-31696-2) is a book by Malcolm Gladwell.  This is a great tool for understanding and helping others to understand social change, how it works, and why it happens. The tipping point is that magic moment when an idea, trend, or social behavior crosses a threshold, tips, and spreads like wildfire. Just as a single sick person can start an epidemic of the flu, so too can a small but precisely targeted push cause a fashion trend, the popularity of a new product, or a drop in the crime rate. This widely acclaimed bestseller, in which Malcolm Gladwell explores and brilliantly illuminates the tipping point phenomenon, is already changing the way people throughout the world think about selling products and disseminating ideas.

tough

The Toughest Cowboy: This is a children’s book about overcoming gender stereotypes.

make

Making Social Worlds: A nonfiction book by one of the best authors and thinkers on community peace and empowerment.  It helps us understand how we create our own social worlds and relationships with others, and we need to take responsibility for creating good ones.

missing1 missing

Shel Silverstein- The missing piece, The missing piece meets the big O.  Both of these books look at relationships, codependency, and life itself.

 4

Don Miguel Ruiz: The Four Agreements – 1 of the four agreements is to be impeccable with your word (Not using or accepting verbal abuse) Another is to not take things personally- (the abuser is not abusive because of the victim)

where

Wherever you go, there you are – by Jon Kabat-Zinn.  A great book on mindfullness and meditation. A great set of ideas on mindfullness….and how to achieve inner peace. A great book for everyone!!!

Chad's book - NOW Creating the Future.

Chad’s book – NOW Creating the Future.

 

NOW creating the Future by Chad Herman – A great and inspirational book of poetry to help you see that we all have the power to change the world!

2 Comments

  1. The Great Gatsby is my favorite book. right now I’m wearing a Great Gatsby T shirt. Will have to check out the other books on your list. How kind of the man to give you the list. It’s funny how we don’t forget the people who led us down the right path.

Leave a Reply

