New addition…Yay!!

When I first started all of this……. I wanted this, and now it’s FINALLY HERE!!!!!!

What did I start you ask?  Well maybe I should start there.

About 2008 or so…..strong emphasis on “or so”, I’ve never been good with time. ….I decided I had a goal in life: To create a better world.

How does one do that?

Step 1 – Decide to create a better world or “Change the World!” or “Create positive change.”

So I decided that was my goal of life. Wrote it down on a piece of paper. Wrote down some ideas on how one would do that. I stopped there, that was the end of my lunch break. I was teaching and many would say that I was changing the world at that time. I knew there was more and there was more I could do.

I decided to write and inspire people…that wasn’t very lucrative and I was quickly very poor and very homeless. Turns out that having a place to write in the first place is a better idea than just jumping into a freelancing career. I explained to the Universe/God/the great energy/the great geomatrician that maybe I jumped to quickly.  I then explained that I wanted to change the world…where do I start? Right here it would be really neat if I said that the Universe opened up and gave me a magnificent sign by god…but that didn’t happen. The water lapped against the dock I was standing on and I lost my house, my car, and I sold off a lot of my belonging to feed myself, the dogs, and get an apartment.

Because the library had air conditioning AND I needed a job, that’s where I spent a lot of time that summer. After a very frustrating week, I put into a job site search engine: Change the world!   A crazy idea…but those are the ideas that change lives. The Universe spoke:

I begin working at a Domestic Violence outreach center speaking to 100’s of people about preventing domestic violence and violence in general.  I worked there for three years and it was great. However, around year 2 a very odd thing happened to me: I cleaned my book shelves. As I was cleaning three books fell on my head…they were all the same book.

A great book and I suggest every person read this book.

A great book and I suggest every person read this book.

 

For those who do not know this book, it is a metaphoric tale about how you can’t rely that something is going to stay that way forever. You have to constantly be preparing for the next step and often times, the next step is better than the pone you’re on. Another great way of saying this: The only constant is change.

Wow! Maybe that’s a good idea. Two days after that, I received an email that I had to explain how I was going to be able to keep my job if the federal funding ran out. The signs and writing was on the wall….and a friend of mine said, upon me telling them this information, what are you going to do?  I explained I wasn’t sure. They then asked the fatefull question:

What do you WANT to do?

My answer was the same as 3 years earlier: I want to create a better world.

She asked:What is that?  How do you do that?

After a 10-15 minute explanation I said, “In short, I want to Motivate People to create Positive Change…and Motivating For Positive Change was created! At first it was just a blog….then it turned into a company.

I knew since I attempted the freelance idea, that I needed to get to a lot of people. But how?  The blog now has 144 followers (thank YOU…yes you reading this…Thank you!!!) The Facebook page (Please like if you haven’t!!!) Speaking to people (About 100-200 each time) I have three books of poetry and one non poetry book on the way (Hint Hint…new book coming soon!!!)

What’s the next step?

Chad Herman's column Inspiring Change in The Largo Leader

Chad Herman’s column Inspiring Change in The Largo Leader

A newspaper column…YES!!!

When I was freelancing I wanted this. I asked for this, I begged for this, I proposed this…..NOTHING! But my path is to help others, so now it’s working. Before i just wanted the column. Ahhh…everything makes sense now.

Chad Herman now has a monthly column in the local newspaper The Largo Leader named Inspiring Change. This is another way I can reach more people to achieve my ultimate goals: Live(not lose everything again) and create a  better world.

Look for the next post to read the column….

 

1 Comment

  1. Pingback: Chad Herman’s Column – Inspiring Change | Motivating For Positive Change

Leave a Reply

